Tuesday, October 14, 2008

A magnificent obsession?

Posted in vote at 7:55 pm by Elaine Petrowski

As a self-confessed, formerly-apathetic-sometimes-voter, I’m astonished that the recent election cycles have ignited my political fire from slow burning embers to a full-fledged conflagration.  Now I wonder if it precisely because I am reformed that I am well on my way to becoming somewhat of a crazy, loud-mouthed zealot?

I’ve sent money to my candidate (at least twice) (three times) and checked my voter registration online (at least twice) to be sure I’m really registered, though I have lived at the same address for more than 25 years. Not only that,  I have forwarded that email to just about everyone in my address book, both Republican and Democrat. The day after that email went out, I received a reply from an old friend, who I once relied on to keep me somewhat politically informed. Her message: “thanks for keeping me up-to-date on the political scene.”   Wow.

I’m really ticked off that my bumper stickers (front and back) have not yet arrived. And, for the life of me,  I can not bring myself to turn off the “talking heads”.  But  worst of all,  I talk back to them. Even if I’m listening to the radio while in my car.

Is it just me, or are lots of us finding that all things political have become somewhat of an obsession?

Just for fun:

Take the Palin/Fey Quiz — can you tell who’s who?

Leave a Reply

