Monday, January 12, 2009

Hooray–National Safety Council Proposes a Ban on Cell Phones While Driving

Posted in Life tagged , , , , , , at 9:11 pm by Elaine Petrowski

Who would have thought that the National Safety Council would make my year? And on only the 12th of January?

To my way of thinking, drivers who insist on talking on their cellphones are, and have been, a menace and a scourge on our society  for the last ten years. So  I can NOT begin to tell you how thrilled –no– make that ECSTATIC  — I am at the news  that the U.S. National Safety Council  is proposing a ban on cell phones while driving in all 50 states!

I wish the NSC as much success with this program as they had with seat belts and infant car seats.

I am,  after all,  the woman who sports a bumper sticker that reads “HANG UP AND DRIVE”.  I refuse to answer my phone while driving. And no, I really don’t think that hands-free is any better. ( And neither do the NSC studies.)  I don’t know why, I can’t explain it.  I just know I can carry on a conversation with a person sitting in the car and that’s not half as distracting as talking on a cellphone. It’s long been my view that cell phones and cars do not mix, kind of like alcohol and cars do not mix.

ALLELUIA… where do I send my contribution for this campaign to begin?

Now please excuse me, while I  write to Jon Corzine, the current governor of New Jersey, who, in case you do not live on the East Coast and did not hear,  was very NEARLY KILLED about 18 months ago when the driver of his official car was TEXTING as he drove the UNSEATBELTED governer to an event, going an estimated 90 MPH, in the left lane of the GARDEN STATE PARKWAY. Perhaps the good governor (who I happen to like very much)  was spared by the powers-that-be  for this exact purpose …so that he could be THE FIRST to sign the proposal into law?

4 Comments »

  1. Dee said,

    I am thrilled to hear this. I would do a cartwheel if I could do one ! Where can I get one of those “Hang Up and Drive” bumper stickers? Is there a petition to sign? I would be overjoyed to sign one.

  2. drtombibey said,

    www,

    I gotta agree. Your points are logical, and as I have gotten older, I try to do what you are saying.

    The other thing I learned as I got older was we Docs are not near as important as I thought we were when I was young!

    Dr. B

  3. with all due respect for the demands of your profession — the studies mentioned in the link above point out that drivers talking on cell phones, hands-free or not, are four times more likely to have an accident.
    Perhaps a compromise could still keep you in touch as needed?
    Keep the cell phone– but pull off the road and onto the shoulder, or better yet, into a parking lot or space, to make your calls.

  4. I have a bluetooth connection to a speaker on my visor, so I can talk and keep both hands on the wheel.

    I am a Doc, and I was the first person in my town with a cell phone. (The bluetooth is new.) For me it is close to imperative. We used to drive around all night and have to stop at pay phones, and now I don’t have to get out of the car. This time of year it is very handy.

    drtombibey.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

