Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Learning About Life in Catholic School

Posted in Life, Pursuit of Happiness tagged , , , , , at 4:52 pm by Elaine Petrowski

So…. today I get an email from my high school alumni group and decide to take a few minutes to poke around the St. Blabla site

to see how things have progressed in the umpteen years since I attended.

To my dismay, but not to my surprise, NOTHING seems to have changed.  But the stand-out is the dress code, emblematic of all that was 1965, with the possible exception of the mention of “multiple piercings.”

My favorite line: “Judgement (sic) concerning the appropriateness of any student’s attire rests with the administration.”

Such is, and was, the life of the teenage girl who attends(ed) this school.

Now I ask: If  “judgement concerning the appropriateness of any student’s attire rests with the administration” how and when do students develop their own judgment concerning appropriate attire?

This, in a nutshell,  was my experience attending a Catholic girl’s high school. “No need to think for yourselves. We’ll do it for you!”

Below,  if you are curious, is part of the CURRENT dress code,  which, if memory serves me,  is identical to the 1960’s.

“Students are required to adhere to the following dress code:

* Uniform skirt or uniform pants (when Permitted)
* Skirts are to be a presentable length for school. They may not be rolled up at the waist.
* The School shoes must be worn at all times-either the loafer or lace shoe, whichever you choose.
* Dark stockings are required; black, charcoal gray, navy tights or dark knee socks must be worn. Fish net and patterned stockings are not permitted. Students are to arrive, remain, and leave in the school uniform/dress code.

On days that uniforms are not required, it is expected that each student will select attire which will not call attention to her in a negative way. Judgement concerning the appropriateness of any student’s attire rests with the administration.

Students may not have visible body piercing (e.g. eyebrow, lips, nose, tongue, etc.) except for earrings, and no more than 2 pair of earrings may be worn at school (these earrings should be small in size.) No headwear is permitted in class. Only one neck-chain may be worn-and one ring on each hand.”

Is this still the way to go?

Do you think this teaches anything?

5 Comments »

  1. […] Students may not have visible piercing (e.g., eyebrows, lips, nose, tongue, etc.) except for earrings, and not more than 2 pairs of earrings can be worn to school (these earrings should be small). No hair is authorized in the class. Only a neck chain can be worn – and a ring on each hand. ? refering: https://workingwritingwoman.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/everything-old-is-new-again/. […]

  2. @ pat – and don’t forget the one-piece overgrown romper gym suit and those hideous brown shoes. And I don’t know about you, but I would NOT wear navy blue willingly until I was about 35!

  3. Pat said,

    I personally was shocked that the girls in one of the pictures on the St. Blabla site were wearing sweaters other than blue. Remember how the only way not to freeze to death in the short-sleeved blouses was to wear the navy blue blaze r(which my mother bought two sizes too big)?
    I also notice that they can wear knee socks and tights so the times they are a-changing. As I recall, we could only wear stockings. And don’t forget those hats which we stuck on our heads when we walked in the school doors!
    I also remember a rule against nail polish but the rebels wore it on their toenails.
    And how can I forget that our senior year privilege was to wear head bands as long as they were BLUE.

  4. Amen … as they say at St. Blabla.

  5. Linda said,

    Oh yeah, does that take me back to MY Catholic high school days. I’ve never wanted to attend a reunion and I barely glance at the alumni bulletins (usually a call for donations). I’m not sure we had jewelry restrictions (as stated above) back then, but I doubt my school even addresses the existence of piercings. Not much room for individuality under these regimes,


Leave a Reply

